You are here

Next meeting Edinburgh 2014


Wednesday 15th October 2014


Lecture Theatre 3, Ashworth Laboratories, King's Buildings, Edinburgh.


View Larger Map


Directions to the meeting location.

Please enter the Ashworth building via the main entrance.

Once inside, come up the stairs and turn right. Head along the corridor and you will find Lecture Theatre 3 on your right-hand side.


Register to attend this meeting.


Speaker Presentation title Time More information
Lunch   12:30 - 13:30  
Dr. Yannick Wurm Ant genomics and innovative bioinformatics tools 13:30 - 14:30 More info
Judith Risse Super scaffolding with Nanopore reads 14:30 - 14:50  

Our invited speaker, Yannick Wurm, will also be teaching a short workshop for a limited number of participants on the morning of 15 October. It will be held from 10:30 - 12:00 in the new Training Suite in the Edinburgh Genomics facility and will include hands-on tutorials on the following topics:

 * SequenceServer:  BLAST search made easy! []
 * GeneValidator: Identify problems with gene predictions
 * Afra: Gene feature curation for the masses []
 * BioNode: Innovative bioinformatics approaches with Node.js []
To attend this workshop you should be familiar with the command line. To register (first-come, first-served) please email us at


Yannick Wurm, Bert Overduin, Javier Santoyo-Lopez, Nadejda Lupolova, Christelle Robert, Alison Meynert, Lee Murphy, Morad Ansari, Ernest Walzel, Timothee Cezard, Florian Halbritter, Le Yu, Urmi Trivedi, Nick Schurch, Dominik Laetsch, James Ashmore, Nathan Medd, Martin Jones, Choon-Kiat Khoo, Peter Cock, Kathryn Elmer, Kashyap Chhatbar, Eduardo Alves, Deepali Vasoya, Sophie Marion de Proce, Susan Fairley, Awa Sarr, Owen Dando, Matthew Bishop, Deppie Roumpeka, Vera Kaiser, Fahmi Nazarie, Sejal Modha, Amanda Warr, Tom Mayo, Judith Risse, Mihail Halachev, Alastair Kerr, Juan Nani, Zhenhua Hu, Jamie Orr, Andrew Mason, Maria Fernanda Torres, Andres de la Filia, Richard Oppong, Lindsay Farrell, Quan Gu, Phillippe Gautier, Lewis Stevens, Jack Richard-Bollans, Georgios Koutsovoulos, Michael Berinski, Julia Loecherbach, Arne Jacobs, Fabrice Besnard, Peter Thorpe, Catherine Kidner, Katie Emelianova, Alex Chambers, Sonja Dunemann, Rodrigo Bacigalupe, Richard Kuo


NextGenBUG is co-ordinated and sponsored by Edinburgh Genomics, The University of Edinburgh's next generation genomics facility.