You are here

Next meeting: Edinburgh, 6th December 2016


Tuesday 6th December 2016


The workshop will be held in room G.155 in the Peter Wilson building.

Lunch will be held in Honours Room 1 in Ashworth Laboratories.

The meeting will be held in Lecture theatre 1 in Ashworth Laboratories.

Directions to the King's Buildings campus can be found here.



Register here to attend this meeting.

If you also want to attend the morning workshop, please send an email to Bert Overduin


Speaker Talk title Time More information
Alex Mitchell and Blaise Alako (EMBL - European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, Cambridge) EBI Metagenomics workshop 09:00 - 12:00 EBI Metagenomics ( is a freely available hub for the analysis and exploration of metagenomic, metatranscriptomic, amplicon and assembly data. The resource provides rich functional and taxonomic analyses of user-submitted sequences, as well as analysis of publicly available metagenomic datasets held within the European Nucleotide Archive. In this workshop, we will explore the analysis results that are available via the website and download data for analysis using MEGAN and R. Participants will have to bring their own laptop and need to install some software in advance (details will be provided upon registration).
LUNCH LUNCH 12:30 - 13:30 LUNCH
Nick Loman (University of Birmingham) Untangling microbial populations with noisy long reads and accurate synthetic reads 13:30 - 14:15
Matt Loose (The University of Nottingham) Running and reading in real time - the challenges of minION data analysis 14:15 - 15:00
Alex Mitchell (EMBL - European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, Cambridge) 200 billion sequences and counting: analysis, discovery and exploration of datasets with EBI Metagenomics 15:30 - 16:10
Dominik Laetsch (The University of Edinburgh) Kinfin - taxon aware analysis of clustered protein data 16:10 - 16:30


Bert Overduin, Nick Loman, Matt Loose, Peter Cock, Alison Meynert, Katie Baker, Stephen Fox, Dominik Laetsch, Jordan Ashworth, Amanda Edge, Jack Hearn, Alex Mitchell, Blaise Alako, Stefan Rooke, Carlijn Boogaardt, Russ Hyde, Quan Gu, Masoud Shirali, Alastair Kerr, Christelle Robert, Ian Simpson, Sejal Modha, Mark Blaxter, Owen Dando, Duncan Berger, Lewis Stevens, David Longbottom, Bryan Wee, Sharif Shaaban, Rodrigo Bacigalupe, Nuno Silva, Francesco Gastaldello, Richard Orton, Alba Crespi, Derek Wright, Cosmika Goswami, Anna Eleonora Karagianni, Fulvia Draicchio, Aniruddha Pandit, Yifei Yang, Carlos Caurcel, Daniel Robertson, Janina Costa, Alison Hill, Kim Thompson, Ramon Fallon, Katie Emelianova, Maha Maabar, Samantha Lycett, Fiona Kenyon, Murray Wham, Amanda Warr, Michal Stuglik, Vincent Mulholland, Charlotte Burgess, Tom Mayo, Harry Wright, Joel Fearnley, Jonathan Manning, Joseph Hughes, Kevin McLean, Ross Fraser, Elisabet Sjökvist, Donald Dunbar, Frances Turner, Gonzalo Yebra, Eleanor Watson, Nadejda Lupolova, Samuel Heron, Sophie Shaw, Jan Gravemeyer, Leighton Pritchard, Paulo Flores, Richard Challis, Mihail Halachev, Frank Wright, Josh Quick, Yu-Hsin Tseng

NextGenBUG is co-ordinated and sponsored by Edinburgh Genomics, The University of Edinburgh's next generation genomics facility.

NextGenBUG is co-ordinated and sponsored by Edinburgh Genomics, The University of Edinburgh's next generation genomics facility.