You are here

Next meeting: Glasgow, 14th February 2017


Tuesday 14th February 2017


The meeting will be held in the ILay Lecture Theatre, McCall Building, Garscube Campus, University of Glasgow, Bearsden Road, Glasgow, G61 1QH.

Lunch will be held in the The Barn, Mary Stewart Building. Lunch vouchers will be provided to attendees. Vouchers can be used to purchase anything available in the canteen including hot and cold food/snacks and drinks.

A map of the Garscube Campus can be found here. Directions to the Garscube Campus can be found here.



Register here to attend this meeting.


Speaker Talk title Time More information
LUNCH LUNCH 12:30 - 13:30 LUNCH
Robert Gifford (University of Glasgow) Lost in a forest: tree-based strategies for virus research in the era of NGS 13:30 - 14:15
Carlijn Boogaardt (The University of Edinburgh) Comparative viral metagenomic analysis of human and animal enteric samples from Vietnam 14:15 - 14:35
Avraam Tapinos (The University of Manchester) Digital signal processing for the analysis of genomic/metagenomic data 14:35 - 14:55
Samaneh Kouchaki (The University of Manchester) Metagenomic binning through multi-resolution genomic binary patterns 15:30 - 15:50
Maha Maabar (University of Glasgow) DisCVR: Rapid viral diagnosis from NGS data 15:50 - 16:10
16:10 - 16:30
16:30 - 16:50

After the meeting we will go to The Esquire House, 1487 Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 0AU (close to Anniesland railway station).


Sejal Modha, Maha Maabar, Russ Hyde, Robert Gifford, Carlijn Boogaardt, Jordan Ashworth, Avraam Tapinos, Quan Gu, Richard Orton, Derek Wright, Lisa Evers, Martin Jones, Samaneh Kouchaki, Tristan Dennis, Elizabeth Sutton, Katie Emelianova, Susie Cooke, Rosie Upstill-Goddard, Taya Forde, Neil Robertson, Ana Filipe, Kristina Kirschner, Luis Navarro Sánchez, Ralph Hector, Luke Paul Buttigieg, Anton Puzorjov, Sreenu Vattipally, Aine O'Toole, Charlotte Capitanchik, Amanda Edge, Hannes Becher, Dominik Laetsch, Andrea Martínez, Grace Nabakooza, Daniel Robertson, Simon Babayan, Emma Langan, Marianne Pearson, Marcos Georgiades, Rachel Miller, Qin You, Ailith Ewing, Jordan Portman, Adam Kurkiewicz, David Schlessinger, Ying Liu, Joseph Hughes, Dan McElroy, Lewis Stevens, Antonio Ribeiro, Peter Cock, Robert Stone, Carlos Caurcel, Aleksandra Marconi, Urmi Trivedi, Hilary Fawcett, Tracy J Ballinger, Elihu Aranday, Timothy Booth, Duncan Berger, Seyhan Yazar, Zejun Yan, Sinclair Cooper, Peter Repiscak, Mark Blaxter, John Marshall, Alba Crespi, Seanna McTaggart, Peter Wasson, Migle Petruskeviciute, Ann Hedley

NextGenBUG is co-ordinated and sponsored by Edinburgh Genomics, The University of Edinburgh's next generation genomics facility.

NextGenBUG is co-ordinated and sponsored by Edinburgh Genomics, The University of Edinburgh's next generation genomics facility.